Wed, December 11, 2019 - 22:39

HUU Awards 2015 Winners

May 18, 2015

Education Zone Awards

Course Rep of the Year

Anne Robinson for her consistent efforts as a Course Rep for Physics.

‚ÄčOutstanding Contribution to the Education Zone

Wendy Drake for the phenomenal dedication and effort she puts into Education Zone and other meetings, whilst contending with her studies on Placement.

Departmental Rep of the Year

Rachel Hughes for her selfless commitment to her role, constantly communicating with students and the Department to secure positive change. 

Education Engagement Award

Gemma Naylor for being an unsung hero in the Education Zone by quietly and persistently dedicating her time to the people she represents.

Welfare & Community Zone Awards

Welfare & Community Zone Volunteer of the Year

Angela Suriyakumaran for actively contributing and representing the interests of the Welfare and Community Zone.

Welfare Zone Team of the Year

LGBT+ for running strong campaigns and engaging more students than in previous years.

Advice Centre Volunteer of the Year

Michael O’Donnell for showing professional commitment to his role in the Advice Centre.


Bethany Walton for being a vital member of LINKS and for stepping up as Events Service Leader.

Sport Zone Awards

Most Dedicated AU Club Member

Osaro Otobo for using her wealth of experience and passion to improve the Women’s Basketball club.

Most Dedicated AU President

Laura Huntenburg for going above and beyond as President of Women’s Rugby Union.

AU Long Service Award

Sophie Darragh for selflessly giving 8 years of commitment to Ladies Hockey.

Activities Zone Awards

Derek Forster Award for Outstanding Commitment to HUSSO

Grace Bishop for her outstanding commitment to the Greenspace project, using innovation to improve the scheme.

ISA: International Volunteer of the Year

Sabina Bujdei for determinedly working to improve the quality of the International Students Association, by securing new trips.

Media: Best Contributor

Josh Baker for devoting his time to encouraging the growth of Hullfire TV.

RAG: Fundraiser of the Year

Swing Dance Society for their 24 hour Dance-A-Thon during RAG Week.

Society of the Year

Computer Society for providing innovative events for their members.

Activities Zone Team of the Year

RAG for developing new events to encourage and help students fundraising.

The Big Three

Volunteer of the Year: The John Franks Memorial Award

Daryl Jones for running some inspiring campaigns around mental health and raising awareness on campus.

The Julie Watson Memorial Award

Sophie Darragh for supporting the development of Ladies Hockey over the last 8 years.

Outstanding Work for the Students’ Union

Simon Hernandez for providing 2 years of dedication to HUU and for improving student experience for Scarborough.

Latest News

Get in touch

Hull University Union
University of Hull,
Student Central,
Cottingham Road,
Charity #: 1152549
Company #: 8475916
Directions to Student Central

01482 464000
Internal: 4000